since 2009

bluefish blitz

31blue

29blue

27blue

Not really a blitz but it was nearly “all-you-could-catch” tonight. I couldn’t sleep so i went out around 3:30am Saturday night. Saw lots of big schools of baitfish in the water, more than usual, and bass in the shallows slashing around at them, but they gave me no love. I moved to a different spot and was quickly onto fish—they were hitting the surface all over the place. I lost a few before hooking up on a big one which eventually lodged itself in a piling or some rocks and got off. I hope it was a bluefish because I will be sad if it were a big bass. I moved again and got three bluefish while losing about 5 or 6 others in the process. All on bucktails with six-inch curly tails, which the bluefish wised up and eventually started biting off. I fished til I had no more lures. See Ben, this is how you catch a real fish.
xo
mkl

PS. Register for the derby here! Otherwise I’m totally going to win.

2 responses

  1. fishburgler

    nice fish MKL!! if you need some help with the stripers I’m happy to help out. J

    September 19, 2010 at 10:23 am

  2. yeah i’m hoping bigger bass move in soon.
    -mike

    September 19, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

