since 2009

49.5 Inches of “Don’t Forget”

If the Brooklyn Fishing Derby was about catching Ling (instead of Striped Bass & Blue Fish), then I would have won last year. And until last night, I wasn’t so sure my luck was getting any better. But you know what they say – you have to give it time. And fresh bunker.

Last night (after many snags and monkfish), I finally pulled this beauty in. No gaffing, no “macho” boys grabbing my rod and breaking my reel to “help” me. Nope, I pulled this beauty in all on my own. Because I can.

Fear not: you are all still beating me in the derby. I don’t have a single entry yet. In all my excitement, I forgot to text this photo in last night and never even photographed it with the tape measure! That beauty was 49.5″.

I may not be a derby winner, but I’m one proud fisherwoman.

REMEMBER
All derby entries must be:

1) measured with the official BKUAA measuring tape
2) photographed
3) texted or emailed to bkderby.catch@pikchur.com

for additional information email bkuaa.info@gmail.com

16 responses

  1. nice fish! don’t forget!

    October 25, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    • dave

      if thats legit 49.5 inches send in a photo, its still the same day and you have witnesses I imagine, there have been a lot more controversial entries and winners in the derby than this…. nice fish!

      October 25, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      • That’s kind Dave. But we need to lead by example. No photo with tape, no entry. I rather just enjoy the glory and set the right tone: fishing is cool. And derbies are more fun, (and easier to run) without ANY contraversies.

        * I’m also trying to prevent the inevitable: standing on a pier hearing about every fish made on the line but not online, then hearing everyone’s version of the story and then having to render a decision.

        Tight lines, Jane AKA Baitrunner

        October 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm

  2. littlelord

    holy crap.

    October 25, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  3. Where were you fishing when you caught that bad boy?

    October 25, 2012 at 3:36 pm

  4. Moi

    Nice! I’d like to know where you caught that too. If you’re willing to tell that is!

    October 25, 2012 at 3:58 pm

  5. mkscrewy

    Yeah it’s ok. Sorry Jane you know the rules! If I have any pins left over at the end of the derby maybe ill flow you one.

    October 25, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    • Thanks Mike. I do like those pins.

      October 25, 2012 at 4:36 pm

  6. To all those who want to know where I caught this monster — The East River.

    I may be a good sport but I’m no fool.
    See you at the award ceremony.

    October 25, 2012 at 4:43 pm

  7. alex m.

    Congratulations Jane! Fish of a lifetime for many urban anglers. And don’t even get me started with my not pictured/not texted stories. Anywho, you get to enjoy braggin’ rights. Bask in the glow for as long as it lasts. I am impressed and inspired to go on fishing. Rock On!

    October 25, 2012 at 5:01 pm

  8. alex m.

    Also shoud point out that per Derby rules: “All submissions must be made within 1 hour from the time of being caught.” Tight lines y’all!

    October 25, 2012 at 5:03 pm

  9. Moi

    I hate to hijack this post, but I’m arriving on Tuesday from out of state for the derby and am wondering what you locals have heard about hurricane Sandy? I’m hoping I make it!

    October 26, 2012 at 9:27 am

    • it’s looking like a direct hit… doesn’t seem to be getting as much attention as hurricane irene did last year even though the potential is there for this to be far worse

      October 26, 2012 at 10:30 am

  10. Moi

    Ugh, thanks for the bad news Kyle. : ) I wonder if they’ll be cancelling or maybe just delaying my flight. Why……

    October 26, 2012 at 10:39 am

  11. Did you keep it?

    October 26, 2012 at 11:42 am

  12. Aaron

    I am scheduled to fly in Tuesday and planning on fishing the derby. What is this Sandy bitch going to do to the fishing? Better worse? It’s my experience that a rise in the river level screwes with the fishing. Is the same thing true for the East River? Thanks.

    October 26, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

