since 2009

look at this fucking thing

IMG_0694

IMG_0695

Look at this thing I found near the carousel in Brooklyn Bridge Park. I was doing a cancer charity GoRuck Challenge and we were finishing up by the river when I found this mystery fish. I sent pics around with some friends and they guessed it was either a king mackerel or a bonito. It has tuna-like fins toward the tail, but I couldn’t really see the color of the fish as it was pretty deteriorated and frozen solid. It could be either, but guessing from the size (more than 26″), I’d guess the king mackerel might be right. Any ideas? I’ve never seen one of those come out of the river, though usually when it’s this cold, I don’t see many people fishing either. Every year, I see something new out of there.

On that cancer charity note, I want to send out condolences to Geralyn Shukwit. Her father passed away a couple days ago from battling cancer, but he went out peacefully. Everyone here knows G, as I usually call her, and everything she does to help promote the derby and all the fantastic images she brings every year of all of us fishing in Brooklyn. She’s a big part of what we do, and she’s always out on the piers or up for a fishing adventure. Send some thoughts her way if you can.

On a different note, someone pointed me to this story in England about a guy who got caught cheating in a bass fishing tournament. It turns out he broke into a local aquarium and stole the fish a couple days before the tournament. Someone suspected the fish looked familiar due to its markings, and went back to the same aquarium but couldn’t find the fish. The thief planned to return the fish, but apparently got scared and sold it instead. This shit is hilarious.

Screen shot 2013-01-27 at 1.29.07 PM

One response

  1. Crazy fish. That may be a false albacore that wondered up. I think people catch them off the beach pretty commonly.

    June 18, 2013 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

