since 2009

back at it again!

Processed with VSCOcam with m6 preset

So much water so close to home.

__________________

The 2016 striped bass season started Friday and for some reason I thought my luck might change with the offseason. I was wrong. But I had to shake off the rust of the winter, or off-season, whatever you want to call what happened between the months of December and the present. Pretty much the only other thing I accomplished recently was getting kicked off another fishing page’s social media app for calling out a supposedly “keeper size” (an extremely generous assertion) bass on a stringer a month before opening day. I DID manage to re-up on a bunch of gear I needed over the winter, but as a few minutes of standing in the water in Jamaica Bay would prove, I neglected to replace my waders.

I’d seen and heard reports and pics through the grapevine and the Internet that the bass are here in the bay and harbor if you could find them, well before the official start of the striper season. I hit a spot in Floyd Bennett Field on the outgoing, which seemed like a promising tide and a light wind out of the south. Within 15 minutes I’d made my first sacrifice to the Fishing Gods of 2016, in the form of a Daiwa SP Minnow that went sailing in the direction of the green buoy in the distance. If someone finds a bone-colored SP Minnow with no tail hook and only a front treble, that’s mine. Please throw it back in the water, or you might catch my bad luck. I remember reading about, and hearing from Bill Wetzel in person while on a guide night, the benefits of “cutting back” on line, but I guess I still haven’t learned to not be cheap.

Anyhow, even with all the new gear I acquired while not fishing, I still went with the white bucktail for my first cast of the season. Uncle Josh’s stopped producing pork rind so people went nuts hoarding it, but has anyone tried the Otter Tails Straight tails yet? I haven’t run out of my pork rind from last season yet, so I haven’t gotten around to trying anything new on that front. Eventually I will and will report back.

I guess it doesn’t need mentioning, but I didn’t catch any fish YET. The season is still early and the water isn’t quite at peak temperatures. Some friends are still doing pretty well in Maryland—and the water off Asbury Park on Sunday was still pretty cold as well. I got my Gateway parking permit in order and have a few East River spots mapped out for the ever increasing nights when I don’t have a whole lot of time. With the last Democratic debate in the Navy Yard and all the new industry they’re building there, I’m guessing my days here in Fort Greene are numbered, so I better start making the most out of it instead of just listening to the constant rumble of the BQE 100 feet away.

How’s the start of the season for everyone else?

-mkl

4 responses

  1. Jack

    happy 2016 Striper Fishing season! I also read about the end of the line for UJ pork rinds. luckily i’ve been crafting “my own” pork rinds. But imma check out the Otter Tails!

    April 19, 2016 at 1:51 pm

    • mkscrewy

      Hey Jack. Do you mean you’re curing and cutting your own trailers?

      April 20, 2016 at 12:18 pm

  2. MissBov

    I also made a sacrifice on my first outing of the season – a lovely colorful bucktail with pork rind, leader, and all. How far should I cut back to avoid this? I hear big stripers are going nuts for bunker spoons this week, but many shops are all out of them, including my fave, Capitol in midtown, where I stop whenever I have a meeting nearby. Maybe I’ll try Pier 6 on the outgoing today if it’s not pouring. Full moon tonight. Good luck!

    May 21, 2016 at 8:50 am

    • mkscrewy

      I kind of forget how much line. I probably should try to check it more often as well.

      June 11, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

